You should spend about 40 minutes on this task.

Write about the following topic:

Each year, the crime rate increases.

What are the causes of crime and what could be done to prevent this rise in criminal activity?

Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

You should write at least 250 words.

ANSWER:

Annually, criminal activities are really escalating; the causes can be attributed to poor parental upbringing and unemployment. However, good child monitoring and provision of employment for graduates can curb this menace.

Firstly, a number of factors are responsible for increasing crime in the society such as poor parental rearing; modern parents are both working class and are not always available at home to check their child's upbringing; all the burden of child is left for nannies. Sometimes, these children are left unattended at home, which may make them fall into bad company and resorts to drug under peer pressure, while they turn to crime to get more of these drugs. For instance, a research study found out that, 80% children that are brought up by nannies turn out to be delinquent in the society. Secondly, unemployment is another issue causing frustration and hopelessness among people. The want to earn money and cater for their families is intense, if it is not harnessed properly, they can be involved in crime just to offer for immediate needs.

Furthermore, there are various ways to prevent or eradicate criminal activities in any given society. This lies mainly upon the parents, proper upbringing of the God-given children is essential, however, parents should be a good role model for their children, comfortable family atmosphere should also be made for them, as well as the circle of friends children keep needs to be monitored as to comb out the bad peer group. Moreover, the unemployment rate should be reduced to the lowest level as this will engage people, likewise, vocational training be made available for all. When all these are put in place by the government, deliquescent will be reduced to the barest minimum.

To conclude, yearly frequent cases of crime in the society is because of poor parental rearing and lack of empowerment like jobs, whereas, proper upbringing and provision of job opportunities can curb this menace. Government should provide adequate vocational skills for its citizens to harness urge for crime.