Young people are now spending more and more time and money following fashion trends. Is this a positive or negative development?

Nowadays, the amount of young generation’s money and time spent on fashion has been increasing dramatically. Whether our world is beneficial from this development has generated dissenting ideas among people. In my opinion, fashion trends bring many positive impacts not only for its fans but also for our economy.

As a supporter of fashion trends, I believe that there are several convincing arguments for shopping for clothes. First of all, young adults have to suffer from increasingly high pressure and stress from working so that they could earn more money to support themselves and their families financially. Therefore, they regard shopping for clothes, which can help them relax after hard-working days, as an interesting entertainment option. This results in the fact that they can be motivated to work more effectively. Secondly, becoming fashionable is also associated with the confidence of the young generation, which plays an important role in success. If they find more confident, they can communicate better and receive more opportunities in their life. For instance, some research proves that candidates wearing formal suits have a higher chance to receive offers in recruitment.

Consumption of clothes also is of great importance in economic growth. Money spent by young people in order to follow fashion trends helps many fashion companies have higher income and revenue. Therefore, they have to pay more tax, leading to the fact that governments have larger budgets to channel in build better infrastructure which can increase their citizens’ living standards.

In conclusion, I once reaffirm my position that the young generation and the economy benefit from fashion trends. I believe that in the foreseen future, more people will have a right awareness of this situation.