Young people are often influenced by their peers. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

It is generally believed that youngsters are usually under the influence of their friends. From my perspective, I agree with this belief; nevertheless, there are other extrinsic factors that can impact the young.

On the one hand, young people are, to some extent, impacted by friends. One prominent justification is that the young spend much of their time with their friends at school. This has facilitated the influence of their peers on them in terms of hobbies, personalities, and future goals. By way of illustration, if the young frequently spend their time studying, working, and conversing with bright students and colleagues, they are likely to have more interest in their work and study, and setting excellent peers as great examples for them to stay motivated and keep attempting. Similarly, if socializing and usually spending time with badly-behaved and mischievous individuals, it is inevitable that the young might become rebellious and disobedient to their parents and teachers.

On the other hand, I affirm that there are many external factors originating from family backgrounds that can deeply affect adolescents. Because of the closeness and the truth that young people spend most of their childhood time with their parents and relatives, it is undeniable that these caretakers have the most significant impact on them. For example, if children are nurtured in a family that is full of humane moral values and valuable traditions, they are inclined to become well-educated and virtuous citizens who can tremendously contribute to the development and prosperity of society. By contrast, if raised in a family where parents are delinquents or abusers, or addicted to drugs and illegal pharmaceuticals, youngsters are likely to receive unsuitable education and less tenderness from parents, hence growing up people with less morality and more antisocial characteristics

In conclusion, it is undoubtedly true that young people are affected by their peers with whom they usually spend time, parents and family backgrounds are also considerably influential factors that can shape their personalities and behaviors