It is often said that governments spend too much money on projects to protect wildlife while there are other problems that are more important Do you agree or disagree

In response to the drastic increase in the severity of climate change governments are allocating national budget for wildlife conservation. However, many believe that other problems such as emissions from industrial activities are much greater concerns and, therefore, deserve more financial support. From my perspective, I partly agree with his opinion.

On the one hand, I believe that protecting wildlife species plays a pivotal role in preserving biodiversity, as well as the existence of human beings. One justification for this viewpoint lies in the importance of every creature in the food chain. The food chain is undeniably a complex system comprised of every single creature existing on Earth, and every species is inextricably intertwined with each other. Therefore, the disappearance or reduction in the number of any species can have deleterious effects on a large scale, leading to the disorder of the whole system, and the imbalance of the ecosystem. For example, in ancient times, the extinction of megalodon sharks was attributed to the decrease in the number of their preys which are baleen whales. Much archaeological evidence has indicated that the shift in the food- chain was the primary factor in megalodon’s demise.

On the other hand, I would argue that there are greater environmental concerns that need financially supporting. One of the most devastating problems is the mission of greenhouse gases in the atmosphere due to industrial activities such as burning coal and exploiting natural gas. Emissions from these activities can cause several repercussions on the atmosphere, as well as the degradation of the ozone layer. As more greenhouse gases accumulate in the atmosphere, more heat from solar activity’s radiation is trapped, consequently leading to global warming, and causing the Earth to be hostile and uninhabitable for numerous species. For example, the polar ice melting phenomenon resulting from global warming has catastrophically threatened the existence of polar bears and penguins as their habitats are gradually obliterated.

In conclusion, while many emphasize the need to protect wildlife species, I believe that other problems such as greenhouse gases emission is a much more alarming problem. Moreover, I reckon that the investment of governments in reducing the number of emissions can significantly mitigate other current environmental issues.