Young people living in rural areas have to study or work in big cities away from their homes. What are the reasons? Do the advantages outweigh the disadvantages?

Inga Rhonda King, the general director of Unite Nations Economic and Social Council, said” Due to the progress of economy, the gap between urban and rural areas have widened in decades, and it forces young generation living in remote rural places to travel to big cities to seek for better opportunities of studying and working.” While it seems to become the tragedy for those youngsters, based on my knowledge, however, the pros of this trend are more than its cons.

The advances of economy only benefit to urban cities, in spite of having a better economic situation— more investments, salary growing, and more infrastructures. The reasons are that government cannot spend as much money in both rural and urban cities to construct the same infrastructures because of a limitation of resources. Also, most rural cities locate in inconvenient places such as mountains, inland areas, or the places without river or harbor, which will smash a desire of a company to invest. As a result, young people cannot hope to get the same opportunities and resources than those in urban.

The negative influence of youngsters commuting to work and study in cities is getting the gap widens, and also overpopulation. Losing young population means losing labor. Therefore, rural towns can only develop agriculture rather than industry which can make more money. A lot of exotic people, however, make the cities get crowded and also high living pressure and pollution such as New York— the most developed city in the world but also high crime rates and dirty subway system.

In contrast, young people can have better education, and get into a big company or some government institutions to facilitate the economy of a whole nation. If they earn money, they can get the chance to go abroad to broaden their horizons and can even help others who are disadvantage. For instance, my college friend, Joe, come from Yilan county, which is the rural place in Taiwan, and we study in the capital city— Taipei. He works at the bank after graduating and joins the charity to help people in Africa. If he had never studied in cities, he might not get those experiences.

All in all, the gap might become widen but the whole country even the world may become better if young people can study or work in urban. They are the treasure of society, and cannot be limited in their rural towns to forbid their ambitions.