Young people who commit crimes should be treated the same way as adults. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

There is some dispute whether young criminals should receive equal sentences as their mature counterparts. In my opinion, levying same sentence as the mature on young criminals is unnecessary and have negative impacts on society as whole.

Most crimes committed by young people comes from their unawareness of the consequences of their behaviors. Because of this, the majority of juvenile delinquency is accidental not intentional. Furthermore, the driving force behind criminal acts from young criminals are often rooted in their unbearable peer pressure or study burden. Thus, severe punishment on these immature individuals seem unnecessary and could cause hatred and distrust among them.

Another justification upholding less serious sentences for the young is that youngsters are set to play a large part in labour market. It becomes increasingly competitive for countries nowadays to attract foreign investment. Among other factors, young labor workforce plays a significant role in contribution to development of nations. Therefore, punishing young individuals with equal sentence to the mature would have negative impacts on future workforce of nations, thereby damaging countries’ competitive advantages.

Despite these impacts, some may argue that loose law enforcement on young mind may cause their inadequate understanding of harsh realities of the world. This implies that they may neglect the power of law in years to come. However, this thinking is flawed, as most juveniles have certain knowledge of law thanks to popularity of lawful education on social media platforms.

In sum, young generation are main drive of growth of the world. Therefore, to judge them, the authorities should take in other elements such as their mechanism or the impact it would have on community.