Young people who commit crimes should be treated in the same as as adults who commit crimes. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

It is sometimes argued that juvenile delinquency should be received the same prison sentence as adult criminals by the authorities. While this could be true to a certain extent, I believe that there are still several consequences to discourage them from breaking the law.

The government ought not to treat young crimes the same way as adults because they do not have a chance to learn effective teaching methods. School just focus on academic subjects such as math and chemistry instead of teaching their pupils soft skills as well as punishment after violating the law. Therefore, they do not be taught the difference between right and wrong and juvenile crime rates are becoming higher and higher. A good example is Vietnamese students, they tend to spend excessive time finishing their homework which is required by their teachers without getting lessons about life.

At the same time, the reason why I believe it is unfair for young people to be punished like mature people is the lack of relative care. This means parents do not know how to raise their children so it creates more opportunities for youngsters to be impacted significantly by outside factors such as the internet and friends. The fact is that many children, even taught the danger of committing a crime, still take part in illegal acts due to exposing to violent movies and street gangsters.

In conclusion, it is my conviction that imprisonment for juveniles is not the same as for grown people because we can have other reasonable ways to tackle this phenomenon.