Young people who commit crimes should be treated the same way as adults. To what extent do you agree or disagree

There is ongoing dabate whether juvenile deliquents should face the same legal punishment as adults. While some believe that underage people who commit crimes should be dealt the same way as adults, others think that it should be different, taking into consideration their maturity and little understanding of the world. From my perspective, imposing the same punishment for both young and matured offenders will have a negative impact on the society’s well-being.

On the one hand, people who support the idea of treating underage and adult lawbreakers equally believe that this can yeild positive results. As young offenders receive the same treatment as adults can significantly reduce crimes committed by underage people. This is because they will be held accountable for their actions and face the consequences according to the laws. Moreove, it is insensitive to the family of the victims and possibly create a sense of unjustice in the justice system, which will cause doubt about the impartial of the legal system among people who live under the law of such system.

On the other hand, I strongly disagree with the aforementioned notion due to several compelling reasons. Given their awareness and cognition are still in the process of development, they can easily be manipulated by others into believing breaking the laws will only get them a light sentence because they are young. Additionally, giving juvenile deliquents similar retributions as matured offenders would pose a serious impact on their future, as they would highly be rejected by any job opportunities. As a result, they become the burden of society.

Conclusion, I am unconvinced of the belief that young offenders should receive the same punishment as adults. Instead, they should be treated differently, taking into account their age, maturity, and level of responsibility.