The young today spend a large amount of their leisure time in shopping centres It is feared that this could have a negative influence on the young and society To what extend do you agree or disagree with this view

Nowadays, the young generation is inclined to utilize most of their free time in different shopping halls. Accordingly, it is concerned that this condition might have an extremely negative impact on them and the whole community. In my opinion, I totally agree with this point of view.

To begin with, one of the major issues associated with spending lots of leisure time in shopping destinations is that the young can waste their time meaninglessly. According to a survey in Vietnam, about 70 out of 100 teenagers prefer rambling with friends in an enormous shopping hall rather than learning themselves or taking care of their family members. Consequently, the Vietnamese young generation is prone to dependent on their parents' finance with a mistaken mindset about rewarding lifestyle.

Furthermore, another alarming problem is that more shopping means more waste products and more severe pollution which cause a serious impact on the social living environment. Firstly, any products bought in shopping centres are packaged in various types of wrappers including paper, plastic... After purchasing, these wrappers will immediately become masses of household trash and then exacerbate national pollution. Secondly, commuting more and more to shopping halls leads to more terrible air and noise pollution. For instance, in the last decades, Vietnam reported more serious air pollution in megacities due to more shopping malls' constructions.

In summary, people are gradually anxious about a remarkable amount of spare time wasted in shopping centres by the young generation today which negatively influence the young themselves and also the entire society. These consequences are dependent, inactive lifestyle and an immediate increase in worldwide pollution.