With the advance in modern technology, people are becoming more socially disconnected. At what extent do you agree or disagree?

Modern technology has made our lifestyle as if we were living on our dreamland which has some consequences good as well as bad. One of its results is a change in our social behavior. Some believe that we are getting disconnected from our society and at the same time there is another group of people who believe that our world has become a global village and now we are living in a more connected world. Let us discuss both the viewpoints one by one.

At first, people are becoming socially disconnected. During the old time when the world did not have media and other modes of communication, people used to sit together and have a conversation. There were get-togethers at homes as well as at community level on regular basis. Church meetings were part of their lives. Picnics, slumber parties, kitty parties etc. were much more frequent than now. Consequently, We used to live in a more socially connected world.

Now let us elaborate on the second viewpoint, with the invention of the telephone it became much easier to connect with others. In addition, the rise of computers changed the whole concept of networking. During old times, people had to write a letter and wait for several days in order to get an answer but in this era, communication has become easier and rapid. But we are distracted more than ever, most of us waste time browsing content we do not need consciously or unconsciously. Friends do not talk to each other while sitting in front of each other but at the same the time, comment on social media profile happily. To clarify, we have more ways to the network but we are not connected to each other but we are connected to a hypothetical world.

In my opinion, during the past, we were connected to each other than now. Networking, however, has become much more promiscuous but we are not letting it serve its purpose.