The internet has greatly increased our access to information. To what extent do you think this is a good thing?

Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

Modern technology has given many things to humanity and the internet is one of them. There is a plethora of information present of world-wide-web that we have access to and is increasing day by day. From small articles to books, from news headlines to stories, from songs to movies and game the world of the internet is huge.

The Internet has opened many aspects of communication. The reach of News takes seconds to reach its audience. It is now possible to have access to information about various topics, from politics to weather forecast, from biographies to scientific discoveries, from how to dye your hair to how to make a battery, from meaning of different words of a language to its pronunciation, from jokes to funny videos the internet has become epitome of information. Many universities have started online learning programs which can be beneficial for those who live in remote locations and for college dropouts who want to resume their education. Preparation of competitive exams can be done with the help of various information sources available on the internet. There was a time when the children had to go to the education counselor for information about universities but now even a child has access to such important information a few clicks away. Exam results are also availed by universities and institutes which are easily accessible to candidates.

On the other hand, the information available on the internet may not always be right and even can be misleading. The youngster may fall prey to such misleading information because the media may promote nudity is great, smoking is cool etc. Information provided on the internet can as well be dangerous for example, how to make a bomb, how to hack a website or social media account.

To close, the internet has made possible far-fetched information easily accessible. It has definitely changed our lives. But as every coin has two sides so has this access to information. Not all the information available on the internet is authentic and can as well be misleading and cause chaos.