Air transport is increasingly used to export fruit and vegetables to countries where they cannot be grown or are out of season.

What are the advantages and disadvantages of this?

There has been increased use of transportation by air to export vegetables and fruits to nations where they cannot be cultivated. While it has benefits like availability of exotic produce from various countries within hours, it also has drawbacks such as an increase in environmental pollution caused by fumes released from the airplanes.

The major advantage of exporting fruits and vegetables to other nations is their all year round availability. Different kinds of fruits have different nutrients in them; therefore, people can have nutritive food that contains various minerals and vitamins. Moreover, they get to taste all kinds of produce from across the globe. For example, India alone exports 200 tons of the world’s renowned Alfonso mangoes to all parts of the world annually. There is a great demand for this species because they are the richest source of vitamin B6 and considered as the tastiest fruit.

On the flip side, using air transportation for the export of vegetables and fruits has a major disadvantage because it causes environmental pollution. Flights release enormous amounts of poisonous fumes into the earth’s atmosphere. As a result, it increases the carbon footprint which in turn leads to global warming. For instance, in the United Nations’ annual top 10 global concerns, export of avocados from Mexico contributed to about 19% of atmospheric pollution via its flights. This shows that Mexico’s air travel has caused a great deal of air pollution.

In conclusion, the export of fruits and vegetables via air transport has advantages of enjoying exotic produce in all seasons; it also causes releases of greenhouse gases which is a major drawback.