Some say that music, art, and drama are as important as other school subjects, especially at the primary level.

Do you agree or disagree?

Some people are of opinion that subjects such as music, drama, and art are essential from the elementary school level. This essay agrees with this statement because these subjects help not only in the cognitive development of a child, but also help them in choosing future career options.

To begin with, unconventional subjects such as drama, music and art help in the psychological development of a child. Children usually show interest in these subjects because they are entertaining. Moreover, they require team involvement which makes them much more interesting to the young boys and girls. Additionally, studies have shown that these subjects positively influence the academics of the children. For example, a study conducted in the Music School of Ohio showed that young children who played guitar had scored higher marks in Mathematics. This implies that these subjects help in the academic success of a child.

These unconventional subjects offer a variety of options for students to choose for their career. Unlike regular subjects like science and mathematics, these provide a chance to shine in their respective fields because the competition is relatively less. For instance, research shows that students graduating from the areas of arts and music are likely to be immediately placed in entertainment fields more readily from students from other disciplines.

In conclusion, subjects like theatre, arts, singing and playing instruments should be included in the elementary school education because they assist in mental growth of a child and also offer a wide range of career options to the students. It is recommended that the government should make it a rule to include these subjects in the school curriculum.