Air transport is increasingly used to export fruit and vegetables to countries where they cannot be grown or are out of season.

What are the advantages and disadvantages of this?

The 21st century has witnessed a tremendous growth in the usage of air transportation, especially air freight. transportation of goods by air across the globe is the most sought out solution by many companies and organisations. this increase in favouritism towards choosing of air freight for fruits and vegetables mainly corresponds to economies of scale and smaller shelf life of the products. I strongly believe, there are definite advantages of using aerial route for shifting of goods, especially for frutis and vegetables.

To begin with, the world has witnessed so much globalisation in the past decade that boundaries between countries and continents now seem to have ceased to exist. such heights of globalisation has made it easier for the countries to connect with each other and co-operate among themselves. this has paved way for the logistics and supply chain firms to invest in air freight, despite their high fares. As countries come closer and cooperate, it becomes easier to plan and strategise for economies of scale thereby reducing the cost of transportation per item.

Secondly, fruit and vegetables are considered as perishables owing to their very low shelf- life. Also, much of the time for transportation of fruits and vegetables is lost in petty activities such as picking, sorting, cleaning and packaging. Given the limited time left , between low shelf-life and petty activities, it becomes an important priority to shift the goods at the fastest speed possible. thereby leading to choose air frieght to be the most optimised route for shipping.

There are a lot many advantages to air transportation other than those mentioned here and thus i Would conclud that usgae of air transportation for exporting of goods between countries is for sure the most beneficial way for all the stakeholders involved.