‘All children should learn to speak a foreign language as soon as they start school.’

How far do you agree with this proposal? How important is it for a child to learn a foreign language?

Few topics are more important to parents than a bright future for their kids, and the topic of teaching a foreign language to children will probably always remain controversial. It seems to me that the sheer cost, and the lack of opportunities to use the foreign language in day-to-day life makes it an impractical aspiration, no matter how much we admire the idea.

Perhaps the major obstacle here is the fact that kids might not have enough chance to use the foreign language in their daily life. This makes it difficult to learn the practical usage of different words and phrases. Consequently, the children might never really learn to put the language into practice, or they might even forget the language eventually. This will be a waste of time, efforts and money invested in learning the language. In addition, it might not be affordable for every family to pay the fees for language classes. This is because the increased cost of living, medical expenses, and school fees are already making it very difficult for average-earning families to make their ends meet. Finally, the child may not want to learn a new language if his or her interest lies elsewhere.

Admittedly, I agree with those who argue that learning a foreign language contributes to cognitive development and increases the employment opportunities in the future. Despite this, such aspiration suffers significantly when confronted with aforementioned realities.

Overall, it seems more logical to teach a foreign language if the kid is keen, and if the family can afford it, instead of a general view that “every child” should learn a foreign language.