All over the world societies are facing a growing problem with obesity This problem affects both children and adults What are the reasons for this rise in obesity How could it be tackled

The problem with health overweight among people of all ages has become a matter of growing concern all over the world. Out of many, the two primary reasons behind this problem associates the eating habit and the sedentary behaviour of people when it comes to the question of physical activities. In this essay, I am going to discuss further on these two reasons and will try to shed some light on possible resolution.

Firstly, people nowadays are more relient on junk foods due to busy lives. Junk foods are easy to prepare, but have detrimental effects on human health. For example, burgers, pizzas, hot dogs and soft drinks etc. contain significant amount of sugar, fats and carbohydrates, which if present in an extra amount in our body can cause fatness. This over-consumption of unhealthful food can be controlled by following a healthy diet consisting of vegetables, fruits and a moderate amount of protein. In many countries, for example in Banglades, home-made food delivery at offices are becoming popular to keep oneself away from junk food and eat healthy. Therefore, a healthy diet is recommended to combat obesity.

Secondly, people are becoming reluctant to do physical activities gradually, which is allowing the fat in our body to proliferate excessively. A study conducted by the university of South Carolina found that the obese American sleeps and sits through the entire day, and engages less than a minute of rigorous activity per day on an average, making it easier to gain weight than to lose. To counter this laziness, people should be encouraged or made aware of the many health benefits of physical exercise. Jogging in the in the park or going to the gym helps us to burn the excess fat accumulated from various sources. Local governments and business organizations may step in here to engage people in physical activities. For instance, a Bangladeshi local bank, the Brac Bank Ltd hosts a 10 km Dhaka Marathon event every year to raise health consciousness among the dwellers of the city.

To sum up, the two main reasons behind obesity are the unhealthy food habit and physical inertia. However, there are exemplary solutions to these. Taking necessary effective measures and adhering to the guidelines can help the society to eradicate obesity and the problems arising from it.