All parents want the best opportunities for their children . There are some people who think that schools should teach children skills but others think having a range of subjects is better for children’s future

Discuss both the sides and give your own opinion

There is no doubt that schools lay out the foundation for students during their formative years. However, while some people opine that they should be only taught skills in schools, I believe that teaching wide range of subjects is more beneficial for their future .

Firstly it is vital to consider that schools play an indispensable role in child’s education .People who believe that the students should master the skills at school itself itself may argue that it has become essential to survive in today’s modern world with cut-throat competition. This means that if they are taught something starting from their formative years then there is better prospect for them to excel in that field once they enter the working world. As a result if this,our society will be equipped with competent workforce .For instance , effective communication is the basis of every profession so if this skill is ingrained in the students right from their childhood then it will be more beneficial to them in their career .

However, I believe that instead of restricting them to only limited skills, students should be taught wide range of subjects in the school. They should therefore be given liberty to choose their field of interest once they enter the university and can master that subject . According to me,this approach will give them the sense of autonmy and studies have shown that autonmy is the necessary catalyst for impetus and drive. Furthermore , I feel that all the subjects are useful in different spheres of life so even a superficial understanding of these subjects at school level can e helpful in their career .For instance , mathematics is used in almost every field and also day to day life so basic understanding of this can actually help the students in long run in their jobs.

In conclusion , although the practical knowledge of skills is necessary for students future, I feel that this should be done at university level and a broad range of subjects should be taught in schools .