All the people in a company should be treated equally and provided with the same numbers of vacations in a year To what extent do you agree or disagree

In recent years, there has been considerable discussion about how to improve employees’ welfare. This discussion has led to a suggestion that companies should prioritize equality in the workplace and give all workers the same number of vacation leaves every year. However, I completely disagree with this idea to a large extent for three reasons.

To begin with, granting all workers the equal days of vacations causes scheduling problems. If more than ten employees request a vacation leave within the same time slot, this will bring about three problems. First, employers might find it difficult to seek substitutes who are competent for the jobs. Second, the unfinished work will increase colleagues’ workload. Third, it is hard to run normal business when there are not enough workers at a company.

In addition, this employee-friendly policy results in the unfairness among all staff. In comparison with common staff, senior managers take more responsibility and handle more time-consuming jobs such as budgets, planning and personnel affairs. They usually devote all their energy and time to their work. However, common staff whose jobs are to deal with easier daily routines usually work regularly and go home on time. Therefore, it is unfair to senior managers if they share the same days of holidays with their subordinates.

Last but not least, this equal measure makes part of the employees lose motivation for striving for the best. On the one hand, if a company implements the policy of offering all workers the same days of holidays, employees are more likely to lose passion for their jobs. After all, no matter how hard they work, they enjoy the same privilege of vacation leave. On the other hand, if giving extra holidays to workers can become a bonus, workers might be spurred to show more commitment to their company in the hope of getting more days off.

In conclusion, the idea of offering employees equal days of vacations is completely unacceptable. This practice leads to the difficulty of scheduling, unfairness, and a negative workplace environment. Hence, all companies should not follow this trend.