Although more and more people read news on the Internet, newspapers will remain the most important source of news. Do you agree or disagree?

Technology advances have helped online news to become a formidable rival to newspapers as a source to find information about events happening in the world. I believe that reading news on the internet will be popular and soon become an important source of news as the traditional press.

On the other hand, newspapers will remain significant even in the internet era. Firstly, newspapers printed by press publishing houses are considered to be more reliable and accurate than online sources. It is difficult to correct information that was published in the traditional press so careful inspection is crucial. Moreover, newspapers are produced by professional journalists and editors enhancing the reliability and accuracy of articles. Secondly, many people, especially the elder or residents in less developed countries, can not approach internet-connected gadgets such as smartphones, computers, or laptops causing the lack of opportunity as well as the ability to read online. Thirdly, a lot of people prefer holding and reading a physical article rather than surfing and reading on the web.

However, the internet is likely to be more popular for a variety of reasons. One of those is its faster access which attracts the young generation who prefer convenience and speed. Besides, the updated information in real-time is also an advantage of online news which helps us know what is happening in the world whenever we want. The next reason is equally important, reading online can save tons of papers, chemicals and reduce waste in paper production as well as physical newspapers printing which brings a huge positive influence on the environment.

In conclusion, I disagree with the assertion that the traditional press will continue to be the most important source to get information. With the development of technology, reading on the internet will soon be equally important.