In some countries, many more people are choosing to live alone nowadays than in the past. Do you think this is a positive or negative development?

In recent years, more and more people have chosen to live alone, especially in developed countries. Although this trend has brought both positive and negative development, I think the negative effects are a little bit more dominant.

For several reasons, living alone has some undeniable benefits in many aspects. Firstly, people choosing solitary lives have to learn many basic skills to maintain their lives normally which will result in enhancing self-dependence. Moreover, not receiving some support from family has forced them to be responsible for their living costs, leading to an upgrade in the ability of financial management as well as a sense of responsibility. Secondly, an element of happy life that many people have been pursuing, freedom or ultimate privacy, can be achieved if you live alone so you can do anything you like, spend your time leveling up yourself without being mindful about someone else. In the broader sense, this lifestyle may play an important role in encouraging the country's economy by reinforcing businesses depriving profit from offering products or services for homeowners.

On the other hand, living alone may have some drawbacks. Besides the freedom, people who are far away from their family will feel loneliness and are more likely to experience many philosophical mental problems such as depression, stress or anxiety. The reason causing these problems is that they have no one to share their difficulties and worries everyday like when they lived with family and received appeasement whenever they are tired. The responsibility for paying all daily bills without or just a little bit of financial support is also a catalyst making the philosophical mental problems more horrendous. The trend of increasing single-person families is causing waste leading to many negative effects on the environment.. For example, four members of a family living together in one apartment will consume extremely less power than the total power consumption if they live separately in four apartments.

In conclusion, the number of single-families is increasing these days and it has some positive aspects despite many severe negative consequences.