Because of the rising cost of housing, many young people are increasingly being forced to live with their parents into their 30s. Do the advantages of this trend outweigh the disadvantages?

Housing has been one of the basic amenities which is still being lacked in many metro cities. This situation, certainly, promotes working professionals in their early 30s to share the house with their parents. Although this essay will discuss both the pros and cons, in my opinion, living with parents can be beneficial in the long-term that can fetch you certain benefits.

To begin with, there are several advantages because of which young people are willing to stay with their families. One most important benefit is saving up on mortgages as housing loans are being sanctioned on high-interest rates. Sharing the house with parents helps you to save on rent, which is exorbitant in some modern cities, provided that the house is owned by them. Another could be for your children’s well-being. If both are working, they get less time to interact with their offsprings and this can impact a child’s behaviour. So, grandparents can help to overcome solitude by sharing experiences of their own life, and It could help them to learn certain life-skills.

However, with this positive trend, there comes a few disadvantages. The first one is dependent on parents not only economically, but psychologically. Highly-qualified people do not have sufficient time to cook for themselves that compel them to start eating food from the outside. The second one is lack of responsibility as most of the errands, generally, being carried by parents. For example, if people are out for work, their parents keep the groceries stocked up and paying the bills such as water, house, and electricity bills.

In conclusion, a long-term stay with parents could have merits and demerits, but it will bring more valuable traits to the children. This could also help in the monetary term that can be helpful for them wherein living in different city restrict in their monthly expenses.