Being a celebrity - such as famous film star or sports personality - brings problems as well as benefits. Do you think that being a celebrity brings more benefits or more problems?

It is argued that stardom has its share of advantages and drawbacks. In my opinion, being a popular movie artist or a sports personnel is tough as a profession and has more cons than pros. In this essay, firstly I will discuss the positives of being a famous personality and secondly discuss the negatives of this star life.

Popular cinema stars and sportsmen are always considered as a 'Very Important Person' (V.I.P). Wherever they go, they are treated with utmost care and respect. They receive special entry to most public functions and places and they may also be honored as chief guest for events and television programs. For example, Bollywood actress Madhuri Dixit was invited as a judge for a top rated dance reality TV show. Moreover, these celebrities lead a luxurious lives as they get paid exorbitantly due to their popularity.

However, being famous in the entertainment industry or sports field has serious negative impact on their personal lives. Firstly, they cannot roam freely when they travel and constantly rely on bodyguards. As they have more fans and followers, it is inevitable for them to shun the limelight and when they do so, they are attacked by disappointed fans. Hence, round the clock security is mandatory for them. Secondly, their opinion and views are more prone to criticism. They are subjected to immense pressure by the media and the public which makes them devoid of their personal views. For instance, actor Rajinikanth's recent remark on a social issue sparked controversies even though it was just his personal thought.

In conclusion, although celebrities in film or sports industry appear to have fulfilling lives, in my opinion, it is indeed more difficult to be one. This is due to the fact that their lives are constantly under pressure and threat which may lead to physical and psychological problems thus ruining their personal live altogether in the long run.