The best way to educate children is by using the Internet in every lesson. To what extent do you share this opinion? What other ways are there of making lessons effective for children?

It has been argued that the most effective way to educate children is through adapting the Internet in all courses. Although the idea initially appears to be appealing, some investigation will prove that this is not the most effective method and that other viable options are preferable.

Firstly, it may be true that the Internet may provide new opportunities for students; nevertheless, in the long term in would deprive students of the main goals of education. One should not lose the sight of the fact that the main objective of any education is probably to prepare children for their future life. This goal may not be achieved without improving children’s social competencies in the context of their peers’ community; moreover, their personality can be positively affected in contact with their teachers and their circle of friends. Secondly, it might initially appear desirable to adopt online approach to all courses, but a lot of courses which are more laboratory basis should be held under a skilful teacher supervision to perform scientific experiments in an equipped laboratory. In this case, studying online is probably fruitless and may not lead to effective results. Thus, using the Internet in all lessens cannot always leave up to our expectation.

Turning to possible alternatives, probably the most effective method would be a combination of using online courses and attending classes at school. For example, theoretical courses, such as literature and history, are more likely to be handled online rather than practical courses, like laboratory course and field excursions, which requires student attendance. Another viable option would be to hold regular discussion forums at school for an online course to persuade students to communicate with their peers and expand their circle of friends so as to enhance their social skills. As can be seen, these methods can be employed along with using the Internet to provide effective educational options for students.

In conclusion, not only do some courses require physical attendance, but students’ social skills and their personality may also be adversely affected. A combination of physical attendance at school and online teaching along with holding regular discussion meetings for online courses would seem to be far more robust alternatives.