Bringing in foreign workers to fill positions that domestic workers are unwilling to do can cause problems in the local community and should therefore be stopped.

To what extent do you agree with this?

As per the recent media report, since the last 5 years many multinational companies are hiring 50% of people from abroad. If the employers hire workers from foreign countries to do the jobs which have been rejected by the local workers then it can cause issues within the native community. In order to control this situation it is crucial to cease this practice. I partially agree with this statement and I will discuss my reason in the following paragraphs.

On the one hand, giving jobs to foreign workers instead of local workers when they refuse to take a particular position will ensure that the work industry never stops due to shortage of employees. This is to say that, it is essential to constantly meet the demands of the customers or clients which can only be attained in the presence of enough staff members. Hence, if the positions are left vacant by the local job seekers it is right to provide the job opportunity to people who are willing to do it regardless of their geographical presence. In a survey done by Toronto University, when companies hire foreigners when they have vacancies tend to make huge profits.

On the other hand, when the non-native people get jobs it can cause a sense of job insecurity among the local job seekers. This is because it increases the competitive pressure on the local community as the number of job applicants per job spikes. Hence, the local workers feel forced to accept any job that is available to them. According to a study conducted by Harvard University, it was found that 9 out of 10 people are overqualified for their jobs but can not resign due to less jobs.

To conclude, employers hire foreign workers when the local workers do not take certain positions which increases the competition for the local people. However, I think that it is important for the employers to keep fulfilling the work demands by recruiting any suitable person who is willing to work. I work in a very competitive sector with local as well as foreign workers and I believe it is essential to keep the company going.