Celebrities make a very good living out of media attention and have chosen to live in the public spotlight. They have no right to complain when they feel the media are intruding on their privacy.

To what extent do you agree or disagree with this opinion?

In each career of art or sport there are some public figures that grab the attention of content makers in social media platforms, TV channels, or newspapers. Many of these famous people are unsatisfied with the excessive reporting in media about their personal life. Whether they are eligible to accept or to refuse this fact, it is a moot point. I believe that each person, regardless of his/her fame, has a range of privacy which should be respected. The following essay will display both sides of this fact.

On one hand, many reporters and journalists are of the belief that any piece of information about any individual could be published anywhere at any time. In other words, it is agreed among them that the more news about the private life of celebrities are published, the more excitement would be gained in their reports. For instance, It is observed that the social media pages which are concerned with gossips or scandals of the well-known people have much more followers than the other pages. As long as this kind of reports is popular among many readers and viewers, the media industry will continue to produce such materials.

On the other hand, it is believed that the violation of an individual’s confidentiality is unacceptable. This means that each person should have his/her own moments that are not shared with others. The painful accident that happened to Princess Diana in 1996 was clear evidence of how is it harmful to violate the others’ privacy. Furthermore, these persons who chase celebrities to take a photo or write a piece of breaking news may expose themselves to legal liabilities in their countries.

In conclusion, the definition of privacy may be different between the two points of view. In my opinion, the right to privacy should be highly considered. However, governmental authorities have to impose laws and regulations that oblige everyone to respect others’ personal life. The exposure of celebrities’ personal life on media will not be decreased unless people's awareness about the case would be enhanced and supported by strict acts.