Advertisements have impacted our modern world. Discuss the advantages and disadvantages of advertisements.

Saturation of human beings’ basic needs is a prime reason for each activity in the people’s life cycle. This is a cornerstone principle in Marketing science, which obviously plays an important role in shaping thoughts and opinions especially those of the new generations. The main unit of this science is the advertising materials which are used to influence the community trends. Surely, these advertisements have their own merits and demerits, which will be presented in brief in the next paragraphs.

To begin with, the marketing campaigns involving brochures, short movies and cartoons can provide a wide range of products and services for consumers, where no one, now, has the ability to limit their choices. In other words, each community segment can find products suitable for their social needs, financial status, and age-related demands. This can be witnessed easily in the plethora of advertisements that emerge every time in social media platforms such as Facebook, Instagram, and Youtube.

Despite these positives mentioned above, there is a negative side of these advertising activities. A major disadvantage is the spread of a culture of consuming even among the low socioeconomic groups in society. It’s believed that this increased tendency of consumption has a negative impact on the total productivity power of people, which negatively affects, in the end, the overall economic state. Not only are advertisements affecting the consumption rates, but also they have many potentials to trick customers. This apparently, happens through magnifying the value of product features that really don’t have this value.

In conclusion, while no one can ban the advertising agents doing their job, the content of their commercials could be regulated by the governmental authorities as the Chamber of Commerce to avoid undesired effects. This, as well, should be supported by the influencers such as parents, teachers and even public figures to increase the awareness about the hazardous impact of the culture of consumption.