For centuries important parts of education have remained such as reading writing and maths With the advent of computers some people think that computer skill be made as a fourth skill to be added to the list To what extent do you agree

It is irrefutable that computer has become a part and parcel of our lives. Because of its importance, some people are of the opinion to add computer skill as a mandatory subject in addition to reading, writing and mathematics. In my opinion, I think that adding computer science in the school curriculum is beneficial for the students as it would help them to get a better job and make their lives a lot easier.

To begin with, there is hardly any sector available that is not using the computers. This is because computer has facilitated our lives by endowing us with a plethora of benefits, which signifies the immense importance of learning computer. In other words, students who have a better knowledge in this field are likely to have a head-start in life compared to their peers. For instance, in Japan, students learn computer technology along with other essential subjects that is considered to be one of the factors of why Japanese student outperform students of other countries. Moreover, smart technology is being incorporated in maximum educational institution for presenting computer based class lectures and taking online examination; therefore, students not having the basic knowledge about computers are likely to face difficulties while coping with the school curriculum.

Another point to consider is that the likelihood of getting a well-paid job increases with the acquisition of computer knowledge. This is because majority of the multinational companies operate their office works via computers these days, which, in turn, increases the demand of the employees who have a good command over computers. To clarify, since there is so much competition in the job market, adding computer skills in the resume would not only raise its value but also the probability of getting hired. Take Bangladesh as an example, majority of the university students in that country are taking computer courses despite doing major in other subjects so that they can avail themselves to a high income job. Consequently, such course would help them to enjoy a better standard of living.

In conclusion, after analyzing the above discussion, it is quite evident that imparting the knowledge of computer to the students is just as much important as any other subjects. Hence, I think school should add it as a compulsory subject for the students in order to help them in the long run.