With the development of modern society is the loss of traditional ways of life Is it important to keep our traditional ways of life How can this be achieved

There is no doubt that modernization has placed our traditional values and lifestyles on the verge of extinction. Although it is important to embrace the blessings provided by modernization, it does not mean that we should abandon our ancestral way of living. In my opinion, preserving the conventional ways of life is extremely essential as it represents our past and makes us unique from the rest of the world.

To begin with, there are plethoras of reasons for maintaining our traditional lifestyle. Firstly, it distinguishes one nation from another. This is because, each and every country is unique by its own culture and heritage, which had taken a thousand years for a nation to attain. In other words, this connects us with our ancestors, and reminds us how our nation has evolved throughout the periods. For instance, in Bangladesh, majority of the males wear a traditional dress called “Panjabi” during the New Year festival, which has been passed down from generation to generation. Secondly, traditional remedies are still being used to treat many diseases. While modern societies have access to advanced medical health care services, native people rely on herbal medicines, which have no adverse side effects. Therefore, it is quite evident that traditional ways of life are inextricably linked to our day to day life.

Both government and individual citizen have to play a major role in conservation of our traditional lifestyle. With regards to the former, it can make people aware of the conventional values that our predecessors have bestowed upon us through campaigns or seminars. Moreover, government can encourage schools to teach their students about our primitive way of living so that they can keep this tradition alive. As for the latter, instead of getting carried away by modernization, every individual should practice their age-old customs and rituals more often. People ought to realize that no matter how much modern we become, we can never escape from our root.

In conclusion, it is not hard to see that traditional ways of life gives us the opportunity to explore our past as well as our origin. So, its importance cannot be denied. With the help of government and individual, we would be able to save it from disappearance.