Children can learn effectively by watching television. Therefore they should be encouraged to watch television regularly at home and at school.

To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Penetrating almost every household, television is now not only a media for entertainment but also a tool for spreading information. As these devices are ubiquitous, a practice is being developed among parents and teachers to use them as learning tools for their children and students. Though watching television may entice a child to some extent, I strongly disagree with the notion that it can be an effective learning practice.

Young people are highly addicted to constant stimulation, and television is one of the easiest ways to provide it. If something entertaining, such as music videos and cartoons, is streaming, it is natural for a youngster to become glued to the TV. It might provide a false idea of concentration and learning, but the actual scenario is different. The real learning, especially in the cases of young people, comes from practical experiences, such as playing games with their parents or other kids. Parents should encourage their children to interact with real people rather than depending on electronic media for learning.

For a learning experience to become successful, it must have visual, auditory, and kinesthetic components. If television provided a way to engage its viewers in real-life practice, it would be possible for them to actually learn something. However, the device actually provides only a one-way communication, not requiring the audience to do anything, which is contrary to the idea of effective learning. On the other hand, conventional learning methods at schools are heavily depended on practical exercises, letting children utilize their knowledge in practical situations. TVs should not be used as learning tools in schools as they cannot be as effective as a human teacher.

To conclude, watching television cannot be an alternative to real-life learning, such as learning by communicating with parents and classroom teaching, as it lacks the practical aspects necessary for complete learning experiences. Therefore, children should be taught by using more practical and effective methods rather than by watching television.