Some employers want to be able to contact their staff at all times, even on holidays.

Does this development have more advantages than disadvantages?

To achieve workplace efficiency, it is essential to have proper communication between employers and staffs. In today’s business world, employees are constantly connected to their corporations through various electronic media such as cellphones, computers, internet, etc. It is the preference of some managers or owners to keep their subordinates engaged all the times, even when they are on a break. With the advent of modern communication channels, such as texting and email, it is now possible for those supervisors to check on their workers on a continuous basis. Nevertheless, putting stress on employees during their break time is a malpractice, which hurts not only organizational productivity but also employee well-being at the same time.

Senior management in institutions are likely to be performance oriented. Due to the nature of their position and compensation structure, they strive for maximum output. The privacy of their subordinates sometimes means very little to them. This is why they prefer that their staffs will always be at their disposal, even on the weekends. Being highly result-oriented, these managers engage with their staffs constantly, resulting in a hustle culture. This approach is sometimes advantageous for meeting targets or deadlines, and short-term spike in profit may be attained by it. However, to achieve sustainable workflow, employees must be provided proper breaks between works.

Employees need to have proper time-off between workdays to rejuvenate themselves. If that time is cut short, it will most likely hamper the quality of his or her regular works. Moreover, a worker might get some job done on the holidays if he or she is pressurized by his or her employer, but the performance would most likely be poor. Furthermore, if boundaries between work and personal life does not prevail, the family life will become very chaotic, and no work life balance will exist. Eventually, both the efficiency and quality of the work will reduce and the organization will suffer in the long run.

To conclude, constantly connecting with employees during holidays is likely to be very disruptive. This practice, although beneficial for some organizations, can disrupt the personal lives of the employees. Although this culture may appear productive in the short run, the long-term disadvantages far outweigh the shorter-term benefits.