Children do not respect their parents as much as they did in the past. This behaviour is now having a negative impact on society.

Discuss

Respect is the caring and positive attitude we feel for others and ourselves. With the advent of modernization and technology development, parents are complaining that, their children are becoming preoccupied and donot have to time to respect their elders also, which is directly or indirectly affecting the society. In this essay, I will discuss the main reasons behind this behaviour.

Firstly, children in the past, used to respect their parents and grandparents , with love. But, today this is totally changed, now, parents want their offsprings to be self-dependent and they are ready to give their kids, whatever they want. However, youngsters specially teenagers, do not like interference in any matter from their parents. When kids watch some show on television or movies, they try to imitate the heroes and heroines, because, they become their ideal, and kids want to be like them. And in this, if their parents object, they see this as way of blocking their freedom. Thus they start disrespecting ad neglecting their parents.

Moreover, such behaviour from teenagers is actually creating differences within families, and is dangerous to society. Teenage is an age, when a person feels he or she is already grown up, and take his or her decision well, but, sometimes they take wrong step, and that brings harm not only to oneself but to family as well as, to the society. Further, sometimes just out of curiosity or to prove a point, youngsters indulge in activities, such as, in drug abuse or sexual crimes. So, it is the responsibility of the parents to understand the psychology off teenagers and keep an eye on the activities, what their children are involved in.

In crux, elders should set an example for their future generations, by showing respect to their former seniors. As commonly say 'As you sow, so shall you reep'.