Children do not respect their parents as much as they did in the past. This behaviour is now having a negative impact on society. Discuss.

Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

Young generation reflects a society. Children these days, are not concerned about respect for their parents. It is obvious that the consequences are detrimental to the society. This essay shall discuss various reasons for such behaviour.

Parents always have the most important place in one's life. However, youngsters do not realize their importance and disrespect or ignore them. The most common reason is the advancement of technology. Today's generation is hi-tech but their parents lack knowledge related to such gadgets. Because of which the offsprings feel humiliated to introduce their parents to friends and try to avoid them.

Another point worth considering is the impact of western culture. West world is always known for its independent nature. Now, eastern countries are trying to adopt that culture partially. As they want to live independent without the interference of parents but do not want to work for that or earn their livings. Such attitude creates conflicts.

Furthermore, children grow up in an environment where they had no choice but to watch their parents leaving grandparents for a better career. This creates an impression that it is just normal to be selfish without thinking about one's parents. For instance, many youngsters in India, move to metropolitan cities in search of a job which splits a joint family into nuclear ones and the elderly are often left alone in small towns or forced to shift to an old-age home.

To conclude, the above reasons are the prominent ones which are feeding children's mind with various examples from day-to-day life firming the belief that parents are not important enough and this way the former tends to lose respect for the latter.