Children’s education is expensive. In some countries, governments pay partly or all education fees.

Do the advantages outweigh the disadvantages?

In recent year, there is a growing consideration for the government in term of child education, particularly payment for their tuition fees. Although this policy brings certain drawbacks, I believe that the benefits are much greater.

On the one hand, the policy of free education charge may place a dramatic burden on the national budget. The government may have to pour money in education, therefore financial fund could have not enough for other sectors such as infrastructure and medical care, which may hold the economy back from development. In addition, some taxpayers who live alone or do not have children may feel unfair because their money is likely spent for sake of others, not for theirs.

However, I would argue that the benefit of free of tuition fee should be more considered. First, among these is studying is definitely encouraged, which lead to the reduction of the illiteracy rate. As a result, the children who go to school will have more chance to find a job, and they would be the future workforce for the country. Take Singapore as an example, they have sponsored education fee for their young generation, which encourages them to go to schools or universities, this is reasons why Singapore has a high qualified manpower contributing for their development. Another significant advantage is that family may not be worried about financial burden because of high education fee, and they would have more money to take care nutrition and health care for their children.

In conclusion, it seems to me that free charge of education would bring more benefits than its disadvantage.