Children who start reading earlier in life perform better later on in their school studies How important are early reading skills in a child s academic performance What other preschool factors influence a child s later academic achievements

Pedagogy experts believe that early reading in children will help in development of cognitive skills in them. Subsequently, after joining school, their performance in comparison to other students is unparallel. In this essay, along with benefits of introducing reading in preschool stage, we will investigate various other factors which influence academic excellence amongst children. Creativity and productive thinking are bonus for enhanced reading experience.

Young age is perfect time for parents to mould their kids behaviour by entertaining them with various fun and educational games. Ofcourse, reading is best option for enhancing focus as figures and letters will help them to improve memory power. According to Sherly Pudlock, leading child psychologist, suggest to use cartoon books with varied colourful images to get their attention for reading which will create evarlasting image in their brain. Thus re-collecting and processing is much easier when they are back on regular studies. To be precise, acquaintance with syllabus and alphabets is what makes them exceptional in their curriculum. In a study conducted by UNICEF, nearly 60% of youngsters attribute their educational success to their parents effort for making them to read at early stage of their life.

Other significant methods for brilliant future of youngsters include- using puzzles like suduko, board-games with action figures, comic tales book for enhancing curioisity and inspiration. Teachers reading-out fables for catching pronunciation is another idea worth to mention. In addition singing rhymes, even in native language, will help toddlers to connect with their surroundings. Since kids love to play, it is highly recommended to use different animal toys for their easy recognition. Ministry of children in Finland, recently adopted showing animated videos in school to make sure they have pleasant experience while they learn. Furthermore, quiz competitions like spell-bee will bring sportive nature in them, alongwith accuracy.

After an elaborate discussion we can safely acknowledge the fact that a child acquiring reading skills at an early age is much advantageous position for their future endeavours. Nevertheless, other modes like competitions, essay writing, puzzles, also contributes equally for overall achievements. Hence, we can conclude the topic by agreeing that reading habit at a tender age is quintessential part of bright childhood.