Companies spend millions each year on advertising online in magazines and on billboards These adverts can encourage people to buy goods that they do not really need What are the positive and negative effects of consumerism

Internet advertising is a cost effective method through which companies can target specific types of viewers Thesedays, Industries invest huge amount annually on media marketing to increase sales of their products which attract customers to purchase the product whereas they actually not required. However, there are both pros and cons of the consumerism. In this essay I will discuss some of the reasons why advertisement is imperative for society and some of the adverse effects of the same.

One of the major benefits is that increase demand of products also raises the job opportunities. To meet the higher demand company needs to increase the production which results in hiring new employees. Furthermore, rise in employment positively increase the taxpayers of the country which is an effective contributing factor in economy development.

As every rose has its thorns, consumerism too has its downside. Mainly the young generation got attracted to the prevailing trends and spends out of their pocket which ultimately left them with no money for their basic needs. Consequently, they lead to do crimes to fulfil their daily requirements. If they do not commit any crime then they join part time jobs to cope up with prevailing fashion and maintain their standards in the society which ultimately affect their studies.

In conclusion, online publicity of products has effective contribution in rising employment opportunities and tax payment section of the society whic ulitimately helps in growth of the economy. However, it also increase the crime rates in youth section of society and adversely affect their studies.