Compare and contrast two clothing fashion in two different countries and explain which one you prefer and why

Every nation around the world has a traditional costume. We can tell which country they are from just by looking at their outfits. Despite the fact that Hanbok from Korea and Ao Dai from Vietnam have many significant differences, there are some similarities that we may overlook.

The difference between these two outfits is huge, especially the structure. The ao dai for men and women are the same, unlike Hanbok, which is divided into two categories for each gender. The Ao Dai is made up of two parts: the tunic and the pants, while the Hanbok consists of two pieces: the jeogori, the chima for women, and the baji for men. Another distinction is the dress's design and style. In fact, the tunic of Aodai adds curves to the body and covers the entire body except for the head, hands, and feet. This has two flaps: a front and a back. On the front, it is often embroidered with patterns or poems. Additionally, Ao Dai's collar is shaped like a V, whereas its sleeves are sewn tight to the hand. In contrast, the jeogori is a jacket worn by both men and women, but the women's version is quite short, typically falling between the breasts and waist, while the men’s is longer, usually coming down to the waist. Curved sleeves and a tying ribbon at the breast complete the look. There's also a noticeable difference in the lower part of both outfits. For instance, the pants of Ao Dai have wide legs and are sewn to the heels. It used to be made of sturdy fabric, but it is now frequently sewn with soft, loose fabrics. Though white is the most common color, the current fashion trend is for the pants to be the same color as the tunic. With Hanbok, the chima is a full, wrap-around skirt that is typically paired with a petticoat. Besides, the chima runs from the body's trunk to the feet, elegantly flaring out as it goes. However, baji, which are men’s pants, are designed to be simpler and are usually worn baggy.

There are many resemblances between these two traditional costumes. First, both have two parts: the jacket and the pants or skirt. Furthermore, Ao Dai and Hanbok come in a variety of colors that can indicate the wearer's age, social status, and marital status. As a matter of fact, for Ao Dai, young girls wear white to symbolize purity, while older and unmarried girls dress in soft pastel colors. Married women are the only ones who wear dark, multicolored dresses, and the future bride wears red or pink, the traditional colors of marriage, during the ceremony. Similarly, with Hanbok, children, for example, wore bright colors, while middle-aged men and women wore muted hues. Matrons wore green jeogori and red chima, while yellow and red were worn by unmarried women. Also, women with sons wore navy. On the one hand, the upper classes dressed in a variety of colors. On the other hand, the working class was required to wear white but dressed in pale pink, light green, grey, and charcoal on special occasions. Additionally, patterns were both embroidered on traditional Korean and Vietnamese clothing to represent wishes and bring luck to the wearer. For example, peonies in Korean or dragons and phoenixes in Vietnamese on a wedding dress signified a wish for honor, wealth, happiness, or redamancy.

As we can see, Hanbok is structurally beautiful. The balance of the structured top and full bottom lends the hanbok a simple structural beauty and rhythmic flow that complements the wearer's movement. Hence, while wearing Korean traditional clothing, the body can move freely and gracefully. Nonetheless, I personally prefer Ao Dai to Hanbok. It is both simple and elegant. When done correctly, it will gracefully contour to a woman's body. It flows smoothly and does not restrict body movement. Therefore, wearing it automatically makes a woman look slim, elongated, demure, and extremely attractive. Many schools in Vietnam require female students to wear white Ao Dai and I especially love its pure, solid white.

In conclusion, although Ao Dai and Hanbok differ in structure and style, they share a common meaning in terms of color and pattern selection. As a result, these distinctions make the traditional costumes of each country unique, and Ao Dai has become my favorite clothing because of its characteristic.