Completing university education is thought by some to be the best way to get a good job. On the other hand, other people think that getting experience and developing soft skills is more important.

Discuss both sides and give your opinion.

There is no doubt that finding a job in today's competitive world may prove to be a hideous task. Some people believe that, higher education is essential for securing a job. While others argue that, experience and practical skills is much more important. I completely agree with the latter view as communication and on field experience is much prioritized by companies while recruiting. This essay with discuss both views with examples.

On the one hand, due to tremendous increase in competition, many parents are concerned of their child's future. Hence, many individuals believe that further studies may be important to gain knowledge, to get employed. This is because many employer's may seek employees having good subject knowledge. To illustrate, investment bankers desiring to work in Morgan Stanley, a renowned multi-national investment bank, have prerequisites of having knowledge in financial markets. As a consequence, one may have to pursue a course in this field to gain sufficient knowledge before approaching the interviewer. In short, education is plays a vital role in providing extensive knowledge, which is likely to aid individuals in getting their desired job.

On the other hand, I believe that communication is one of the most essential skill required for securing a job. This is because, all jobs require people to communicate with each other, at all times to complete the required tasks efficiently. To illustrate, if a recruiter is seeking for a receptionist and the hired personnel is unable to communicate fluently then the customers will not be happy and the work will be hampered. Additionally, having practical skills is also important to complete the work without much assistance and training. This is because companies may not want to bear cost for training staff. For instance, if a doctor does not have any practical experience, then he may not be able to diagnose the patient's illness. In other words, persons being able to communicate and have hands on field experience is likely to find more open jobs in the market.

To conclude, to attain subject knowledge, education is important. However, in my opinion, soft skills such as communication and experience is ultimately required for securing a job.