Computers are often argued to be the most important invention of the last hundred years.

To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement?

It has been argued for quite a long time whether the innovation of computers has played a vital role in the economic and industrial development over the world. In the last century, computers have consistently been at the top of the developments happened among other technologies. In this essay, I will discuss how computers have been playing a crucial role in many sectors such as manufacturing automation, education system, and Medical Sciences.

To begin with manufacturing automation, there are many manual jobs which were previously assigned to humans, are automated using computers. Previously, they were mainly responsible for completing a piece of work physically. Nevertheless, computers are more efficient in comparison to humans while doing that specific job. For example, in many factories, workers used to make clothing products by their hands, but now it is executing by computer software.

Another point which could be made in favor of computers is that it helped students in improving their education system, especially at international universities. They used to travel to attend classroom lectures at college from long distances. But, now after the invention of computers, students can attend their classes through online webinars on the internet using the computer. To exemplify, most schools and colleges offer distance learning courses which allow students to attend online classes on the computer.

Last but not least, medical services have been improved over the period of time by computers such as laparoscopic treatments, ultrasound system, and booking online doctor's appointment. It has been observed that since the invention of computers, the medical system has been improved a lot with many advanced technologies. In fact, with the help of computers, researchers have found the treatment of many serious diseases such as diabetes, cancer, and tumor. For instance, at many private hospitals, doctors perform laparoscopic surgeries from long distances using a computer.

To sum up, computers have been playing a crucial role in the modernization and development of manufacturing, education system, and the medical sector.