As computers translate quickly and accurately, learning foreign languages is a waste of time. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

There is an opinion that it is not necessary to spend time learning languages as modern electronic translators interpret from language to language quickly and precisely. In my opinion, I completely disagree with this idea because any language was designed for effective communication and a translating device can aid it but cannot replace it.

Some people who believe that studying foreign languages is wasting of time, they would probably argue that machine translation is accurate and quick, while learning another language is time consuming. To illustrate, a computer can translate bunch of different text on a vast range of topics on a blink of an eye. This is because it contains huge amount of data and dictionaries from the different fields of science from history and art to industry and business.

However, computer cannot help us went we need to hold life-conversations and need to give quick emotional response to our opponent. If we tried to use any translator during a conversation, it would definitely harm the communication processes. In addition, computer translation is not perfect and a person, which does not know a target language, is not able to correct a machine translation in case of mistake. Inevitably, usage of incorrect translation will lead to misunderstanding and probably conflicts with a foreign person. For example, once I was using google translate for transferring from Russian to Mongolian. As a result, I was completely misunderstood and my Mongolian friends were frustrated because of it.

In conclusion, I totally disagree with the motion of the abundance of learning foreign language as modern technologies can help us to translate written language but for effective communication, we have to understand a foreign person ourselves and thus to spend sufficient amount of time learning languages.