Some employers want to be able to contact their staff at all times, even on holidays. Does this development have more advantages than disadvantages?

It is considered by some employers that the workers of a company should be constantly approachable during weekends and vacations. In my opinion, this tendency to demand employees to be accessible on first call above the working hours has more negative consequences than positive ones.

First, if workers will be in constant touch with managers, it may be beneficial for a business in terms of urgent issues that cannot be solved without a particular worker. For instance, if any project has a deadline and extra time is demanded for its completion, employer will be able to call worker for overtime work. As a result, a project will be completed in time, customers will be satisfied and a company will not pay for the forfeit. Thus, all mentioned arguments might encourage managers to insist on that the workers should be constantly in touch.

However, it is also possible to make an opposite case. It is known that after some productive period of time, production is going down significantly and there no a point to continue a task. A person without sufficient rest feels lack of motivation and overall tiredness. Thus, being hardwired to a mobile phone during a vacation may increase level of stress and completely spoil the purpose of it. Consequently, many business owners have realized that in fact a working week should be shorten to 4 working days because this measure will help to increase productivity.

In conclusion, having considered the argument from both sides, I think that employers should not force employees to be always in touch. It is not necessary and in fact, in a long term, it could be harmful for a business because people get tired and lost their motivation.