Countries are becoming more and more similar because people are able to buy the same products anywhere in the world. Do you think this is a positive or negative development?

With the advent of globalization and digitalization, a person can buy any product in every part of the world. Since most of the international products are easily accessible globally, consumers have far more choices and freedom which have enhanced lifestyle besides narrowing gaps among nations. In other words, I opine with this kind of trend as a positive development and have several reasons to substantiate it.

To commence with, the fact that global availability of international brands such as Apple, Goggle, Nike, Pepsi, Samsung, Amazon, Nestle, Toyota, and many others enable customers to purchase quality products. For instance, someone in India can use the same technology products like Intel and Microsoft that an American uses and it facilitates reducing gaps between these two countries. Barrier and gaps among nations were a predominant reason for conflicts and with the advancement of technology and mutual trade agreements, nations now know knowledge about foreign cultures more than they ever did before. This diminishes world tension and helps prevail the peace. Moreover, affluent countries have created a vast market for consumer products by helping developing nations to establish offshore offices and factories which inclines the economy of both the nations as well as built healthy relationships among themselves.

Furthermore, local consumers are not trapped with low-quality goods because of the good quality of brands available everywhere. This has created competition for local manufacturers and forced them to create better quality local products. With this development, some local companies have gained international recognition as a manufacturer in the market such as Bata.

In conclusion, barriers and gaps among nations divide people and create a master-slave relationship as we already witnessed in history. The ongoing trend of similar products to a great extent is a positive development in the modern world.