Countries with a long average working time are more economically successful than those countries which do not have a long working time. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Some people argue that long average working hours is the driving force behind bigger economies compared to smaller ones which do not exercise this practice. However, I disagree with this viewpoint and am convinced that education and innovation plays crucial role in it.

The argument that long working time could result in economic growth is baseless. It is argued that longer working hours automatically mean higher company profits, adding more taxes for the state to collect. However, majority of the economists agree that this could even pave the way for serious problems ahead. For instance, excessive working lead to tiredness, making employees to take sick leaves in the UK in the year of 2003. Likewise, Suicide cases at Foxconn, a Chinese manufacture Apple products, have lead the company to install nets to catch falling bodies at the company’s factory. Therefore, it is evident that longer working hours has no impact at all on economic development.

Contrary to long working time, education and innovation drive a consistent and stable economy. The access to education makes would-be workers available to be used in any country’s workforce which further attracts local and international entrepreneurs to purse business opportunities. India, for example, is a marketplace full of young educated workforce housing software companies from around the world. Likewise innovations play a vital role in reviving a country’s economy. Take the US as an example; countries around the world pay for innovations such as computer products, patent’s cost for technologies such as 4G to the country which make about 10% of their economy.

In conclusion, longer working hours does not automatically mean that a country would do well in terms of economic prosperity. In fact, education and innovation are the most important aspect of a stronger and consistent economy.