Countries with a long average working time are more economically successful than those countries which do not have a long working time. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

It is often argued that countries following extended working hours are economically more developed and prosperous than those with comparatively short working hours. However, this essay strongly disagrees with this viewpoint. Firstly, this essay will discuss the fact of how it is a mere myth and instead, the health of workers is compromised and, secondly, discuss how the decline in birth rate with this phenomenon affects the overall economy of the country.

Productivity and health of citizens play a vital role in the economy of any nation. People often sacrifice their health by working for more than 48 hours per week. This tendency, when adopted regularly, becomes a routine and as a result, the stress level is increased. Therefore, the productivity of workers gets affected, which is directly proportional to the overall development of a country. Asian countries are a prime example of this where long working hours are very common and at the same time these countries If compared with their counterpart European countries following short working hours, then Asian countries are considered to be less efficient and advanced.

Working people spend less time with their family or choose to be single due to increased job timings and work commitments, which leads to a low birth rate. Reduction in birth rate affects the economy of any country because of the skill gap. When older people retire from their jobs, there are less younger people available to replace them. In other words, less tax revenue would be generated by the income of fewer workers. This would force the government to cut benefits, increase the tax on income and borrow money from other countries. For instance, South Korea is a major example of this trend where childbirth rate has decreased substantially in the last few decades and the government of South Korea has enforced the fixed working hours per week in 2018 to promote birth rate in a country.

To recapitulate, this essay discords with the idea of measuring the economic growth of any nation with the system where employees work for more than fixed hours per week. This is because of the aforementioned facts that how reduced well-being of the inhabitants and low immortality rate affects the overall development of any country.