A country is experiencing population growth and needs more homes. Should these new homes be constructed in the existing cities or should new towns be built for this purpose? Explain.

World is experiencing a huge increase in population and accommodating increasing number of people is currently one of the greatest challenges being faced by the countries around the globe. According to many experts, most cities around the world are overpopulated and therefore I believe creating new towns is the dire need of the day.

Some people believe that accommodating new people in the existing cities is the better option due to various reasons. First of course is from the cost stand point as there is existing urban infrastructure available which only needs further expansion to handle the growing population of inhabitants unlike developing new towns for which the development has to be started from scratch thus would be a more costly option. Secondly, the economical base is something which cannot be created overnight i.e. the local industry and employment base tend to stay in the existing city limits and even so if people move to new towns, have to come back to city for work thus would not be an ideal scenario for them to commute for longer times compared to living in the existing city limits.

In contrast to the above more and more people are sold to the need of new towns being developed in the outskirts of exiting cities to handle the population explosion as it offers far more benefits than accommodating people in the existing city boundaries. Most importantly new towns will reduce the population density of the existing cites and will have the positive lifestyle effect on the lives of existing city inhabitants. Secondly new towns tend to create the new spirit of town, which leads to cultural diversification in country i.e. by opening of new restaurants, fun places etc. Furthermore there is a positive effect of new towns on overall economy as well, as people would like to earn their livelihoods near their home, which drives the greater entrepreneurial spirit and thereby creating a new economic base of the town, and generate local employment.

In the light of the above arguments I am convinced that benefits of accommodating increasing population in new towns far outweigh the option of settling them inside the existing limits of the cities