Crime among teenagers is increasing day by day. What sorts of punishment would you suggest for these children?

The use of drugs is a controversial topic in society today. It has spoiled dreams and aspirations of thousands of families. In general, addicts considers drugs as remedy to their sufferings whereas other are just doing it for fun. Youth usage of legal and illegal drugs are increasing at an alarming rate. It is claimed by sociologists that their closest family members and others surrounding them play a vital role in their interest for unhealthy addiction towards drugs. This essay will discuss possible causes and effects with actions that are necessary to be taken to prevent youths from abusing drug.

Beyond any qualms, there are several compelling reasons why youth is getting involved in drugs. First and foremost, many teenagers are taking drugs due to the fact that they want to be relieved from the family problems. These teens are stressed out with a bad family condition and the way to release it for them is to consume drugs. For example, their parent's marriage might not be working out well and could be in a divorce stage which leads to the disturbence in the personal space of the family. Secondly, many young people are using drugs because they live in an unsafe neighbourhood. They live in a society where as most of the adults are consuming drugs and drug dealers are moving around in the area. They could be friends with drug users and dealers and in the end, they will also consume the drugs. For example, In Punjab the reason of so much drug usage is mainly due to the supply of drugs by the drug peddlers in every area of the state. Therefore, easy access to drugs and lack of monitoring by the authority lead to drug abuse by many young.

Effects of these drugs can lead to the deteriotation of mental and physical health. As one of the serious effect is that some of these young people might not have enough money to purchase the drug, but as they are addicted to it, they would do anything to get it. They might steal things, become a thief or even rob a store as the crime rates would be high there. More fights and murders could be observed in such areas and there must be personal, social and generation related problems related to widespread drug abusing. Another effect of the drug is it may take the life of drug abusers. If drug abusers exchange the needle among friends, they are vulnerable to transmission of deadly disease like AIDS and HIV.

To wipe out drug from society educational programmes should be organised in school, colleges. Rehabilitation centres must be established to help addicted people. Advertisement of drugs, alcohol should be banned from the TV. Families should keep an eye on the bad companies as their teenagers are spending time with and finally the family bonding and understanding should be strong enough to discourage the teenagers not to do something that would bring shame for the family. Governments must ensure that their law enforcing organisations are working hard to wipe out the illegal drug businesses from the country and strict laws should be imposed and implemented to punish the illegal drug business people.

To conclude, drugs are the evil to all the sections of the society and the one spreading and encouraging it should be punished as they are responsible for the blood of the addicted people.