Crime and Capital punishment.

During the last century, a number of countries, where capital punishment is allowed, has reduced significantly. Nonetheless, several countries are still using such a severe way of applying justice. Keeping in mind the history of human evolution and developing social relations, I strongly disagree with this kind of punishment. To clarify my opinion, I would like to share some of the reasons against capital punishment in the contemporary world.

Firstly, the main value in modern society is human rights. In my opinion, one of those rights is the most important and it is the right to live. Hence, when the court decides to execute a criminal, it breaks human rights.

Secondly, it is obvious, that such a serious step cannot be corrected in the future. For instance, if it turns out that the offender was not guilty, nothing could return a convicted person and acquit him. In fact, there were lots of cases when criminals were acknowledged not to be guilty after new technologies and methods of investigation and DNA analyses had been used.

Finally, those criminals can serve people, helping with mundane duties such as cleaning streets or looking after animals. It is obvious, that they should be under thorough control. Instead of being killed, they would have a chance to make up for their awful crimes.

In conclusion, I believe, that there are always more humane ways of solving such nontrivial problems. And if we are to thrive, we need to choose the best solutions.