Demand for food is increasing worldwide. What is the cause of this? What measures can the international community take to make sure the supply of food is enough?

As the global population is soaring at an unprecedented rate, nations around the globe trying hard to cope up with the increased food demand. This essay thinks that the apparent reason behind this phenomenon is increased birth-rate as compared to the mortality rate. Countries can share their expert farming knowledge and create a worldwide alliance to combat this issue.

Due to the advancements in the pharmaceutical sector, the average life expectancy of people has increased markedly compared to the previous decades. For instance, whereas in the 1940s a person was less likely to even go over the age of 60, nowadays, one can live up to approximately 75 years. Since people of the twenty-first century are living longer than any of the previous generations, the surge in food demand can be easily understood. Apart from this, the birth rate which is consistently improving throughout the globe exacerbates the dire food crisis humans are facing.

This upsurge in food demand might seem like an intractable problem; however, two potent strategies can alleviate the problem. First and foremost, nations who have expert knowledge of sustainable agriculture should disperse it to the less advanced countries in order to make them self-sufficient to combat increased food demand. In addition, an international alliance should be established where impoverished nations can seek aid from the opulent counterparts without much formalities to help feed their citizens. As an example, when Srilanka was confronted with famine during the 1990s, India provided various crops at reduced prices with tax abatements to help the less fortunate nation. If nations come together in this way, they can efficiently combat this issue.

In conclusion, a global population close to 8 billion and realising the fact that some nations are less fortunate than others, an international alliance should be established share best farming knowledge so that no one on this planet dies from famine.