In the developed world, average life expectancy is increasing. What problems will this cause for individuals and society? Suggest some measures that could be taken to reduce the impact of ageing populations.

The advantage of medicine has allowed people to live longer and healthier; nevertheless, this positive trend can lead to detrimental impact on how to deal with the public health system and the economy to maintain ageing population, in particular for those developed countries. Therefore, some measures should be implemented to address this social issue that concern as a whole.

developed countries have faced serious issues to maintain elderly people because their needs are expensive and impossible to run in long-term. it is undeniable, that their fragile physical health and other chronic diseases require more attention from the health care system to improve their quality of life. Thus, it will create a significant impact on the health system and economic due to these countries have also other needs to attend.

Besides this, some actions are required to manage life expectancy to ease economic and social pressures for governments. Firstly, retirement age should be increased to 70 years in order to allow people to continue contributing to the economy, and enable governments to continue subsiding the public health system. Furthermore, aging population should incentivise to have private insurance to cover part of their medical expenses and this should be only achieved with governments; intervention to create insurances appropriate for this age group.

To sum up, life expectancy has increased in developed countries and this creates some stress on its economy; however, some actions are needed such as increasing retirement age and incentivising the purchase of private insurance to the elderly to minimize the impact on their countries.