The development of tourism contributed to English becoming the most prominent language in the world. Some people think this will lead to English becoming the only language to be spoken globally. What are the advantages and disadvantages to having one language in the world?

Language is the tool which associates a person to his culture, community and acts as a communication medium to reach to the world. Certain individuals do tend to hold a viewpoint that the growing influence of English will ultimately put an end to other languages and the whole world will be dominated by it. This phenomena of a single language has its pros and cons which I will expound in the following paragraphs.

With the whole world turning monoglot will lead to a reduction in the communication gap since it will be one language that will prevail all around the world. Nowadays, an individual experience considerable language barrier as he moves from one place to another, for instance, if someone travels from Europe to India, which have quite varied languages. Not only this but also the globalisation will get a big push in establishing the world as one global village.

On the other hand, as one loses multilingualism, it’s not only a loss of a language but a whole culture. With each language is attached its traditions, rituals, literature and a long past. So, by moving towards a singular language one also kills his culture in achieving that goal, which seems to be a massive price. Also, the language barrier might lesson but will still prevail in view of the fact that each region will develop its own dialect, which will act the new language divide.

Thus, I would conclude by saying that the technology has advanced immensely and there are innumerable useful mediums nowadays, which markedly simplify the communication process. Hence, one should promote such mediums rather than having a monolinguistic society, whose benefits come at the cost of making other cultures redundant along the way.