The development of tourism contributed to English becoming the most prominent language in the world. Some people think this will lead to English becoming the only language to be spoken globally.

What are the advantages and disadvantages to having one language in the world?

With the booming development of tourism, the use of English are is spreading and predominantly becoming of supreme importance in every countries country across the globe. The merits and shortcomings of learning one language solely will be shed light on in this essay.

It is undeniable that making English become the predominant language in the world brings humans a multitude of benefits. As the language barrier is eliminated, communication have has never been so effortless to people from different nations. In addition, the likelihood of culture shock is also , minimized which substantially reinforces the relationships between people all over the globe. In fact, the assimilation in language in English speaking countries such as Singapore, Australia, the New Zealand, etc paves the way for culture integration, thereby enhancing their bilateral and lateral relationship. Furthermore, the similarity in language creates invalid opportunities for scientists and researchers from different countries to get access to state-of-the-art researching methodologies and thus enhance the development of science and technology, which enhance the quality of human’s life.

Nevertheless, forcing people from all over the globe to use English solely can culminate in several unanticipated drawbacks. Since language is a distinctive portrayal of a country’s culture identity, the fact that applying one international language eliminates the great diversity of cultures that takes each civilisation millions years to develop. To illustrate, Vietnamese words such as Tet, Banh Chung or Banh Day represent the signature dishes in their traditional holiday that neither exists in the UK’s culture nor anywhere else in the world. Accordingly, if there was no culture cultural diversity, tourism would be the first industry to be affected severely, thereby jeopardize jeopardizing the entire economy.

In a nutshell, although the use of english as single language in the world brings many advantages in terms of the integration, its drawbacks can pose a threat to the culture cultural diversity.